//Projects

SAFETEE in the construction of a biorefinery

Safety concept with focus on safety consulting, safety performance, fire and explosion protection

SAFETEE in the construction of a biorefinery

The client of the project is the company UPM Biochemicals GmbH. UPM Kymmene is a Finnish company that originally comes from the field of paper and pulp production and has further developed into a broadly positioned bioeconomy company in recent years. The focus is primarily on sustainable, renewable products both in the traditional business areas but also in biomolecular application areas and in the field of renewable energy. The aim is to offer innovative solutions for a future without fossil raw materials. UPM is building a globally unique biorefinery for the production of renewable biochemicals at its Leuna site. For this purpose, wood as a renewable raw material from sustainably managed forests will be processed into biochemicals, which can then be used as raw materials for the production of responsible plastics.

Our task in this project is to support the in-house HSEQ department in the area of safety consulting. The provision of a safety and health protection coordinator in accordance with the construction site ordinance complements our holistic safety concept. Our customer has access to the full range of our services. We have installed our "SAFETEE Performance Monitoring" with display of the safety performance indicators and thus monitor safety on the construction site in real time. Furthermore, we provide support for day-to-day problems, currently we support the implementation of the pandemic plan and further Corona protection measures.

Our newly founded "Fire Protection" department has already had its baptism of fire, with the training of the customer team as fire protection assistants. Furthermore, we will offer individualized training for various areas regarding fire protection.

We have also taken on the topic of explosion protection documents and provide support here with safety engineering expertise.

The project duration is about 2 years, during this time up to 1500 employees from different subcontractors will work on the project site. From our team of SAFETEE GmbH 4 Safety Consultants are on site for this period. At any time, the client's employees can rely on the know-how of the SAFETEE back office as well as the SAFETEE staff on site. With our Ready-To-Go-Check as well as the SAFETEE on-site management, the legal security of the construction site is constantly checked and a uniform understanding of safety is established.
In their day-to-day work, our consultants are supported on site by the results from SAFETEE Performance Monitoring and will initiate targeted improvements.

In the further course SAFETEE supports the preparation of the safety documentation for the connected laboratories, the pilot plant and the quality assurance, which is also newly established for this trend-setting project.

FACTS:

  • Industry: Bio- and forestry industry, paper industry, biorefinery, chemistry
  • Client: Largest European paper producer
  • SAFETEE GmbH's services: Complete support over the entire project duration of 2 years as Safety Consultant (including SiGeKo, HSE Manager), Fire Protection Officer, provider of fire protection and occupational safety training courses

Service contents

The scope of services of our security concept includes: 

  • Safety Consultant incl. preparation of safety documentation 
  • Determination of the SAFETEE Index
  • Ready-To-Go-Check
  • SAFETEE Performance Monitor 
  • Legally compliant processing in accordance with the Occupational Health and Safety Act and the Construction Site Ordinance 
  • SAFETEE on-site Management 
  • Fire safety assistant training 
  • Implementation of the Corona Prevention Plan 

 

Impressions

Safety coordination for UPM Biochemicals at the Leuna Chemical Park -Biorefinery

EN

//Projekte

SAFETEE beim Bau einer Bioraffinerie

Sicherheitskonzept mit Fokus auf den Bereich Safety Consulting, Safety Performance, Brand- und Explosionsschutz

SAFETEE beim Bau einer Bioraffinerie

Auftraggeber des Projektes ist das Unternehmen UPM Biochemicals GmbH. UPM Kymmene ist ein finnisches Unternehmen, das ursprünglich aus dem Bereich der Papier- und Zellstoffherstellung kommt und sich in den vergangenen Jahren zu einem breit aufgestellten Bioökonomieunternehmen weiter entwickelt hat. Der Fokus liegt dabei vor allem auf nachhaltigen, erneuerbaren Produkten sowohl in den klassischen Unternehmensbereichen aber zusätzlich auch in Biomolekularen Anwendungsgebieten und im Bereich erneuerbare Energien. Ziel ist es innovative Lösungen, für eine Zukunft ohne fossile Rohstoffe zu bieten. UPM errichtet am Standort Leuna eine weltweit einzigartige Bioraffinerie zur Herstellung von erneuerbaren Biochemikalien. Dafür wird Holz als nachwachsender Rohstoff, aus nachhaltig bewirtschafteten Wäldern zu Biochemikalien weiterverarbeitet, die dann als Rohstoffe für die Produktion verantwortungsvoller Kunststoffe genutzt werden können.

Unsere Aufgaben in diesem Projekt ist die Unterstützung der hausinternen Abteilung HSEQ im Bereich Safety Consulting. Die Gestellung eines Sicherheits- und Gesundheitsschutzkoordinator nach Baustellenverordnung ergänzt unser ganzheitliches Sicherheitskonzept. Unser Kunde kann auf die volle Bandbreite unserer Leistungen zurückgreifen, so haben wir unser „SAFETEE Perfomance Monitoring“ mit Darstellung der Safety Performance Indikatoren installiert und monitoren so in Echtzeit die Sicherheit auf der Baustelle. Ferner unterstützen wir bei tagesaktuellen Problemstellungen, derzeit unterstützen wir die Umsetzung des Pandemieplans und weitere Corona-Schutzmaßnahmen.  

Auch unsere neu gegründete Abteilung „Brandschutz“ hatte schon ihre Feuertaufe feiern dürfen, bei der Ausbildung des Kundenteams zum Brandschutzhelfer. Weiter werden wir individualisierte Schulungen für diverse Bereiche bzgl. Brandschutz anbieten.

Auch dem Thema Explosionsschutzdokument haben wir uns angenommen und unterstützen hier mit sicherheitstechnischem Ingenieurswissen.

Die Projektdauer beläuft sich auf ca. 2 Jahre, in dieser Zeit werden bis zu 1500 Mitarbeiter von unterschiedlichen Nachunternehmen auf der Projektbaustelle arbeiten. Aus unserem Team der SAFETEE GmbH sind für diesen Zeitraum 4 Safety Consultants vor Ort. Zu jeder Zeit können die Mitarbeiter des Auftraggebers auf das Knowhow aus dem SAFETEE Backoffice sowie dem SAFETEE Personal vor Ort zurückgreifen. Mit unserem Ready-To-Go-Check sowie dem SAFETEE on-site Management wird die Rechtssicherheit der Baustelle ständig überprüft und ein einheitliches Sicherheitsverständnis etabliert.
In der Alltagsarbeit werden unsere Consultants vor Ort durch die Ergebnisse aus dem SAFETEE Performance Monitoring unterstützt und werden zielgerichtet Verbesserungen einleiten.

Im weiteren Verlauf unterstützt SAFETEE bei der Erstellung der Sicherheitsdokumentation für die angeschlossenen Labore, das Technikum und die Qualitätssicherung, die ebenfalls neu für dieses zukunftsweisende Projekt aufgebaut wird.

FACTS:

  • Branche: Bio- und Forstindustrie, Papierindustrie, Bioraffinerie, Chemie
  • Kunde: Größter Europäischer Papierhersteller
  • Leistung SAFETEE GmbH: Komplettbetreuung über die gesamte Projektlaufzeit von 2 Jahren als Safety Consultant (u.a. SiGeKo, HSE Manager), Brandschutzbeauftragter, Anbieter von Brandschutz und Arbeitssicherheitsschulungen

Leistungsinhalte

Zum Umfang der Leistungen unseres Sicherheitskonzepts zählen: 

  • Safety Consultant inkl. Aufstellung der Sicherheitsdokumentation 
  • Ermittlung des SAFETEE Index
  • Ready-To-Go-Check
  • SAFETEE Performance Monitor 
  • Rechtssichere Abwicklung nach Arbeitsschutzgesetz sowie Baustellenverordnung 
  • SAFETEE on-site Management 
  • Ausbildung zum Brandschutzhelfer 
  • Umsetzung des Corona Prevention Plan 

 

Impressionen

Sicherheitskoordination für UPM Biochemicals im Chemiepark Leuna -Bioraffinerie

DE